The Secret of the Stratemeyer Syndicate

The Secret of the Stratemeyer Syndicate by Carol Billman starts with a good, if brief, overview of the Stratemeyer Syndicate and its founder, Edward Stratemeyer.
It then moves on to examine in detail four mystery series created by the Syndicate: Ruth Fielding, the Hardy Boys, Nancy Drew and the Happy Hollisters.
Of the four, the Ruth Fielding chapter is the most detailed but all contain valuable information on their respective series.
There are a few minor factual errors, such as the author’s claim that Edward wrote the early Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew books, among other minor gaffs.
Despite this, this book remains a valuable resource to researchers of the Syndicate and is a good read for fans of the series mentioned.
RATING: 4 1/2*

Edited by Rev. R.W. Finnan. The latest news, reviews & articles for fans of Franklin W. Dixon's Hardy Boys mystery books since 2005.